Olive Rosemary Focaccia

Yummy , I am a bread a holic!

befunky_img_0101

This basic focaccia dough recipe came from Bill’s Italian Food by Bill Granger, and I’ve added a bit of honey into the dough as well which really adds a lovely mellow-ness. I’d recommend you use a good quality olive oil when making this (i.e. from a bottle, not one of those five litre containers) because you really can taste the smoothness that the oil gives to the wonderfully soft dough. This is a perfect recipe for beginners to playing with yeast, and I had made this on a 30 degree day – so there was no chance of my yeast failing!

You will need:

  • 7g sachet instant yeast;
  • 615g strong white bread flour;
  • 1 teaspoon salt;
  • 3 teaspoons sugar;
  • 1 teaspoons honey;
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, plus extra for greasing.

Combine all of the dry ingredients in a bowl and make a well in the centre. Mix the oil, honey and 300ml tepid water in a jug before pouring into the well, stirring until the dough is soft. If the dough is too dry, add a little more liquid; if too wet, a little more flour.

For More

Join The Playground on Facebook

Confessions of a Glutton

My last experience in baking with yeast involved a failed pizza dough in the middle of winter and since then, I haven’t so much as dared to try and bake my own bread.

With my recent invitation to Masterchef Australia auditions, however, I felt that it was about time that I start to conquer my cooking fears/phobias one at a time, lest I dissolve into a hysterical mess in front of national television…!

This basic focaccia dough recipe came from Bill’s Italian Food by Bill Granger, and I’ve added a bit of honey into the dough as well which really adds a lovely mellow-ness. I’d recommend you use a good quality olive oil when making this (i.e. from a bottle, not one of those five litre containers) because you really can taste the smoothness that the oil gives to the wonderfully soft dough. This is a perfect recipe for beginners…

View original post 309 more words

Leave a Reply

